Attaching a picture of the menu, Monroe wrote: “Erm, what do Pizza Express do to their LEMONS to make them not suitable for vegans?!
But, according to Pizza Express and others who responded, it is the wax applied to the citrus that makes it unsuitable for vegans.
In response to Monroe’s confusion, Pizza Express wrote: “The wax on waxed lemons contain shellac, which is derived from insects and therefore strictly not vegan.”.
In addition to shellac, made from a resin secreted by the female lac bug, waxes may be made from beeswax, which is also not strictly vegan.
Fortunately, there are some fruit waxes, such as polyethylene wax, that are suitable for a plant-based diet.
Getty Celebrity Vegans: From Beyoncé to Natalie Portman Venus Williams "I started for health reasons," Williams told Health in 2019.
While some people were shocked by the news, others praised the restaurant chain for its dedication to customers’ food preferences. »